Tags

, , , , ,

A few weeks ago, I got physically blocked from entering the men’s bathroom and asked to “have a little class.” My 2012 wish?  That people would stop being fucking idiots.  “CLASS”, as this douche-face defined it, would look like this:  me waiting in a 20-person-long line to the women’s bathroom, while looking longingly at  the empty men’s bathroom, wishing I could JUST. EMPTY. MY. FUCKING. BLADDER….regardless of the bullshit gender that society constructs for me.

And you know what fucking sucks?  My experience with not being able to enter a men’s bathroom pales in comparison to people who don’t have traditional gender presentations and actually fear going into public restrooms.  I run a very slim risk of getting the shit beat out of me for trying to pee.  Others get strange looks, harrassed, or worse. 

My frustration doesn’t JUST come from my need to take a wiz, and not being able to (thanks to a jerk).  It also comes from the bullshit rules that we’re expected to follow based on one of two genders we’re assigned at birth. Nothing about gender is simple.  Like most things, there’s tons of grey area.  The idea that there are just two genders is ridiculous. (Gender does NOT mean sex. Your gender is not your genitalia.)  It’s like saying there are only two body-types.  Or only two sexual orientations.  Or only two kinds of people. (which, I know people say.  And some people believe.  Just keep reading, sweethearts.)

 But, oh, hey:

YOU ARE FUCKING UNIQUE.  I don’t indentify with my gender or sexuality in the same way anyone else does. And if you take time to explore yourself. (haaaaaay) You may not either.  Or you may.  And either way – as long as it’s consensual – that’s ok.

For me, the only thing that makes sense is this: There are no rules. You are who you are. You love who you love. You are one, special, unique, amazing, gorgeously individual being.  I know I sound very kindergarten-teacher-esque, but it’s true. You never realize how caught up in intentities and labels we are until you’re forced to deeply investigate your own.

…or at least that’s how it worked for me.  With a little help from a sociology degree.

This is not it. I could go on about this forever. But I think you deserve a bit of silence. And I really just wanna post this shiz.  Comment or message me if you want more discussions.

Please please please…if you’re interested in gender issues – look it up.  There’s SO much to learn.  There’s so much to unlearn.  Interested in reading about it? Check out Kate Bornstein’s Gender Outlaw.  It’s AMAZING.

Stay amazing, my sweet little blog drops….and stay YOU.

xx

LeeAnn

