Tags

, , ,

While my heart is open, and I want to be super positive, I can’t post today without mentioning the weight that Troy Davis’ death puts on me.  If you don’t know his story, look it up.  You need to know about him.

Troy Davis was convicted for the 1989 murder of a police officer.  While his story moved hundreds of thousands of people around the world to protest and believe in his innocence, state and federal judges continued to rule against him.  He was executed tonight.  [there’s so much more that I’m not putting in here.  Please look it up to get the entire story]

In my last post, I talked about change.  In my little flowery, rainbow (and super privileged) world I don’t deal with death daily.  I have the choice to turn the TV off or to stop reading the news if something upsets me.  But I just can’t turn away.

I cannot answer all of your letters but I do read them all, I cannot see you all but I can imagine your faces, I cannot hear you speak but your letters take me to the far reaches of the world, I cannot touch you physically but I feel your warmth everyday I exist.

So Thank you and remember I am in a place where execution can only destroy your physical form but because of my faith in God, my family and all of you I have been spiritually free for some time and no matter what happens in the days, weeks to come, this Movement to end the death penalty, to seek true justice, to expose a system that fails to protect the innocent must be accelerated.

-Troy Davis, “To All”

Injustices like this damage us all.  And, to create change, we can’t just sit and wait for it to happen.  We have to lead by example.  Have compassion.  Keep our hearts open.  Stand up for what we believe in.

My heart hurts a bit tonight.

Love you, little blogmeisters.  Be radical.  Be kind.  And stay fucking amazing.  Spread that shit.

xx

LeeAnn

