Tags

, , , , , , ,

“Here is my secret. It’s quite simple: One sees clearly only with the heart. Anything essential is invisible to the eyes.”

– The Little Prince

Here’s what I know.  I know that I’ve been searching for a solution for years. I know that what I want the most is for the tides in my heart to calm and to have a feeling of complete, peaceful knowing that things are alright.  I know that I come very close to this feeling most days, but only when I decide to let go and just live. I know that on days that I wake up in poetry, work seems too trivial and I have to force myself to actually do the douche-bag stuff they expect of me.  I know that I enjoy the fact that I can actually get it done. I know that on days that I win work competitions, I feel like I’m on top of the world…but it doesn’t feel as good as when I’m painting or in love.  I know that when I see something that truly inspires me, my first reaction is to share it with someone that I care about.  I know that when my heart is in a good place, I wake up early.  I’ve been waking up at 5:45 almost all week. 

 I know that I keep the priorities lists (that my boss gives me) that I doodle on, and I take a minute to be truly proud that I had the guts to draw during the meeting…art is so much more important.  I know that every thing comes in cycles and I still have to learn to wait for the flow instead of make decisions during the ebb.

“There are things we know by heart.  And things we don’t.”

– Andrea Gibson

What is a job even about? If I’m going to see with my heart…I’m not seeing these priorities they put in front of me.  I’m seeing kindness. Inspiration. A hilarious drunken moment with friends that you think about months later. Like I’ve said before, I think it’s about balance.  One time, I was hanging out with my cousins and they were trying to get me to call in sick to work.  I was like “no way! I can’t do that!” and I remember them saying “who cares that much about their job?”   Boi-oh-boi do I agree.  Sometimes it just doesn’t seem worth it.

“Autumn is the hardest season. The leaves are all falling, and they’re falling like
they’re falling in love with the ground.”

Andrea Gibson

Autumn is absolutely on its way. There’s art and poetry and a little tinge of heartbreak in the air. I love the fall. I’m ready for pumpkin flavored…fucking everything, for hot drinks, fires and magic. There’s so much magic in the fall.

I’m reading the book: The Little Prince. It’s ridiculously profound and I feel like the lessons that I’m learning from this little 83-page-book are timeless.  And just wonderful.

Holy shitload of quotes.

xx

LeeAnn

